Zora Neale Hurston Fellowship

Funding Information

Established in honor of Zora Neale Hurston, a leading African American anthropology and literary figure of the Harlem Renaissance. See more information on Zora Neale Hurston and the Zora Neale Hurston Fellowship Award Fund.

  • Eligibility: Three-year award. Should be an incoming student with interests in the African Diaspora with strong GRE and GPA. Awarded every three years.
  • Contact: Department Chair, 1112 Turlington Hall
  • Award: $12,000 each year for three years to same recipient, plus tuition waiver.

Burns Allan Bradham Mildred Eddy Liz

Picture shows Allan Burns, Mildred Cater Bradham, and Elizabeth Eddy at the reception kicking off the Zora Neale Hurston Fellowship fund drive.

Past Recipients

  • Eshe Lewis, 2012, “Intimate Partner Violence among Afro-Peruvian Women”
  • Camee Maddox, 2008, “Drum, Dance, and the Defense of Cultural Citizenship: Bele’s Rebirth in Contemporary Martinique”
  • Michelle Edwards, 2003, “A New Pan-Africanism: Diaspora African Transnational Entrepreneurs and Pilanthropy between Ghana and Atlanta, USA”
  • Daphine Washington, 2000
  • Tahra N. Edwards, 1997, “Não bate-me! (Don’t beat me!): domestic violence in Mozambique”
  • Michelle A. Smith, 1995
  • Karla Slocum, 1991, “Producing under a globalizing economy: the intersection of flexible production and local autonomy in the work, lives, and actions of St. Lucian banana growers”
  • Jacqueline Berry, 1987
  • Gloria B. Bryan, 1984, “The well-being of an urban African-American community”