University of Florida Homepage

2015-2016 Faculty Achievements


  • Dr. Kathy Deagan, Professor Emerita FLMNH, was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

  • Connie Mulligan was elected as VP/President-elect of the American Association of Anthropological Genetics at the AAPA meetings

  • Dr. Dave Daegling has been named one of 34 University of Florida Research Foundation Professors for 2016-2019.  The recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields.  The three-year award includes a $5,000 annual salary supplement and a one-time $3,000 grant. The professorships are funded from the university’s share of royalty and licensing income on UF-generated products

  • Dr. Sharon Abramowitz received the AAA Executive Director’s Award at the 2015 American Anthropological Association Annual Meeting for her service and research on the Ebola outbreak.

  • Drs. Kathy Deagan and Jerry Milanich (Emeritus Faculty of the Florida Museum and Graduate Faculty in Anthropology) received Lifetime Achievement Awards at SEAC.

  • Dr. Ieva Jusionyte was awarded the Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP) 2015 Junior Faculty Teaching Award. She was presented with the award at LASA in San Juan this summer.  Ieva also received an NSF grant to start a research project on First Responders in Arizona.

  • Dr. Steve Brandt and colleagues (Chris Stevenson and Stan Ambrose) received a Leakey Foundation grant proposal to conduct Obsidian Hydration Dating of Late Pleistocene Sites.

  • Dr. Brenda Chalfin has been selected as 2015–2016 Radcliffe Institute Fellow.

  • Dr. Maxine Margolis was inducted into the American Anthropological Association class of distinguished members.

  • Our own Russ Bernard, Professor Emeritus tapped to accelerate social science research at Arizona State University.